top of page
Search

Swearing in manenos

Updated: Sep 15, 2022


Hi there. Its been a minute. A whole commonwealth country had been put on hold with bated breath and then within a matter of days of a supreme court ruling, a valedictorian speech and voila! we have a new leadership installed. But before the installation, there must have been numerous prep ceremonies preceding the main event which is a national and grand affair. All leaders know that to be at the top, you must be visible and that means preparing for the stage. But how much internal work must you do to know that you are ready? Yesterday we saw the Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua call up his sons to the stage and one of them said he had been thrown right in the deep end. Wanna lead? Get used to the deep end... remember my mantra. Leadership is for the brave and those who dare to take up tougher challenges than they think they can hack.#WorkingFromDayOne.


Speaking of national and grand affairs, the hardest part of such an event with audiences overflowing is the role that will require you and you alone to participate in. No cheering from the crowd, no bodyguard to direct you, no choir master subtle gestures, just you. Which brings me to the heart of the matter. Swearing in ceremonies. As a stage confidence coach, I can tell you of a true story of my own swearing in ceremony. Serena Hotel,circa September 2019, 0630hrs, yes you read the time correctly. I got a phone call from the President of a US based networking organisation with a local chapter. My application to join had been accepted after a series of consultative meetings. On the material day, I show up by 0600hrs looking all CEO in my stylish electric blue outfit. Everything was going well until it was time for swearing in manenos. That day, it was Chris, a HR guru and myself in Communications taking our oath to each represent his/her industry category to the best of our ability as guided by the code. When I got to the stage, I was feeling fine. Then my bio was read by a sponsor who went on to mention my jet-set days under the "something none of you knows about me" section of the bio sheet. I was still fine. In fact, being a tall glass of water, I felt relief that I wasn't towering over either Chris or the chapter president, Angie.


Once the bio sheets were out of the way and credibility established, the chapter vice president was holding the bible and I had to place my one hand on it and raise the other.. I am left handed. In our world, everything is the opposite of what is considered normal. The confusion began. The VP was on the wrong side so I fumbled and raised my hand whilst containing the fluster under my chocolate complexion. The moment I raised my hand and heard the words, "I................" I just started micro trembling. Tis' the most subtle of tremors invisible to all but self. I immediately put myself on my own cure of breathing techniques that I teach in the CEO & entrepreneur masterclass. It was working alright but not hard and fast enough. Then my lips dared to join the tremble from the background like the background singers in a jazz band. As if that was not bad enough, I made a mistake of looking straight into the eyes of a seasoned public figure in the audience. With controlled breathing and a shift of focus, I was able to get back on track in slow motion and get sworn in. The photos made their way to Facebook. As I reflected later, I couldn't help but wonder, what happens to the most confident of us during a swearing in ceremony?


I happen to come from the mountain and mountain folk have since the beginning of time warned us not to take oaths lightly. Anything for which you hold a Bible and say "I ....... " In actual fact, there's a saying from my motherland that it is oaths that bring misfortune if not taken seriously. So yesterday, I happened to be a keen observer of the Presidential swearing in ceremony at Kasarani Stadium and just by looking at the trembling book that had been held up, I was taken back in time to 2019. I understood that the more serious the oath, the more trembling is likely to occur. So I didn't laugh but social media is awash with that today. Think of a time in your life when you were taking an oath. At church, school, or an organisation that required your commitment. How was it? Take your time to remember and i'm sure you will be kinder to others as they dare to grow into large shoes of additional responsibility.

Talking of additional responsibilities, I am taken back in time to a lady who flopped an important interview about 10 years ago. The problem? Stage fright. A section of leaders were up in arms that she was unfit for a ministerial position. With a lot of persuasion, lobbying and a history of sterling performance, the lady (name withheld) got the job. The reason I love this story is because the said lady signed up for private coaching right away and the results were evident over the next 100 days.


Let's go back to national and grand affairs one last time. We now have a new leadership installed. Even with the slips here and there, and a take two here and there, the swearing in happened. Done and dusted. What have you been afraid to tackle this past year? What could go most terribly wrong. Can we take two? Try it, and start enjoying life at the next level outside your comfort zone. As I sign off, here's one last true story, circa May 2022. A young CEO signed up for the private masterclass mid this year. She made it clear that it was not on her vision board, but stage fright was creating chaos every time she went to pitch for big business in her manufacturing enterprise. I am happy to report that 10 sessions later, we have a millennial CEO who is kicking a*s. What are you waiting for?


To sign up for a private stage confidence masterclass, go to www.bouncebackpod.co.ke. See you at the top!



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oops!

Think of your favourite public speaker...Have you ever thought of their first experience in front of an audience? Hmm.. Most authentic leaders reveal their not-so-perfect beginnings and it helps the t

Stage confidence 101

My journey to becoming. The year was 1994. I was a University student in an American college based in Kenya. The course, Public Speaking was a must do.. not an elective course. Speaking in front of yo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page